Director's Profile

Mr. Rathin Basu

Rathin Basu holds BTech (Electronics) from Science College, Calcutta University and BSc (Honours in Physics) from St Xavier's, Calcutta University.

Rathin has worked in NTPC during 1978-1983 as Senior Engineer where he was the lead Engineer for design, project management and commissioning of India's 1st Computer Control systems for Singrauli Super Thermal Power Plant. During 1983-84 he worked for ESPL/Westinghouse as Division Head to create a new Distributed Control System business.

He then joined the Alstom Group's subsidiary Cegelec India in 1985. During 1986-1987 he was posted in Paris HQ to lead a group of Franco-Indian Engineers to execute NTPC's 6x500 MW Data Acquistion Systems for Korba & Ramagunadm Super Thermal Power Plants. In 1989 he was appointed as CEO and achieved turnaround of the business and led the growth of Cegelec India during the period from 1989 to 2002.

From 2003 to 2007 he was Vice-President, with a P&L responsibility, for Global Power Distribution Business, based in Paris. During this period, he led the turnaround of this business and simultaneously doubled the business volume to +600 MEuro.

In 2007 Rathin returned to India to lead Alstom T&D India's growth to market leadership in the T&D domain and development of the transmission business. Since 2007, over the last 7 years under his leadership, Alstom T&D India made significant contribution in building a strong electrical grid for India involving AC and DC technologies, leading to tripling the Transmission business volume.

He is member of CII's National Committee on Power, FICCI's Power Committee and CII's Capital Goods committee. He also chairs CII's 'Transmission Group'.

He has attended INSEAD (France) for 'Advanced Management Programme' and London Business School for a short programme on 'Global Electricity Markets'.  

Mr. Ashok Ganesan 

Managing Director

Mr. Ashok Ganesan is a graduate in chemical engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology, Mumbai and also holds Master’s degree in management from Purdue University in the USA.. 

Mr. Ganesan is the Region General Manager, India for GE’s Power Services business. In this role, he is responsible for driving India’s regional growth and execution. He is overseeing all operational functions in the region covering parts, field services, upgrades and project management, on-site repairs, and training. He is also responsible for developing and delivering a regional services strategy that offers customers the technology, knowledge and insight they need to manage the entire lifecycle of their power plants, ultimately providing reliable power to people around the world. Prior to joining GE, Mr. Ganesan worked as a supply chain consultant at i2 Technologies and as a plant engineer at Indo Rama synthetics in India.

Mr. A.K. Thiagarajan  
Non-Executive Independent Director

Aged 72, has a Masters Degree in Engineering from The Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm, and is a Graduate in Business Administration & Information Systems. He has undergone Advanced Management programme from Harvard Business School, USA. He has held several prestigious positions in Indian Industry, including as Managing Director and Country Manager ABB Ltd., Vice Chairman, Wipro Ltd., and President of Hewlett Packard India Pvt. Ltd. He is presently the non-executive Chairman of ING Vysya Bank Ltd. and independent director on other prestigious companies in India and Europe. He has also been the Chairman of Confederation of Indian Industries (CII), National Committee on Technology, IT and Quality, Chairman – CII Southern Region and Chairman – CII Karnataka State Committee. 

Dr. Uddesh Kohli 
Non Executive Independent Director

Dr. Uddesh Kohli, 76, holds B.E. (Hons.) degree from the Indian Institute of Technology, Roorkee, a Post-Graduate Diploma in Industrial Administration from the Manchester University, UK and Ph.D. in Economics from the Delhi School of Economics. Dr. Kohli has been Chairman and Managing Director of Power Finance Corporation Limited, and has worked with the Planning Commission, Government of India, reaching the position of Advisor (Additional Secretary level).

Dr. Kohli, is presently the Chairman Emeritus of Construction Industry Development Council and Chairman of Construction Industry Arbitration Council & Engineering Council of India and Senior Adviser, Global Compact, United Nations. He has carried out international assignments for Asian Development Bank, United Nations Industrial Development Organization, United Nations Development Programme and United Nations Office for Project Services.

Dr. Kohli’s areas of expertise include development planning, finance, project formulation, appraisal, sustainability and monitoring, power/energy planning, Corporate Social Responsibility, training and human resource development.

Dr. Kohli was appointed as a Non-Executive Independent Director of the Company with effect from December 28, 2005. He is a member of the Audit Committee of the Board of Directors of the Company. 

Mr. Alain Spohr
Non-Executive Director

Mr. Alain Christian Spohr holds degree in Engineering. Mr. Spohr has 33 years of rich experience in electro mechanical activities in large power generation projects with ALSTOM (Thermal & Hydraulic).

He is also the CEO and Managing Director of Alstom Bharat Forge Power Private Ltd. (ABFPPL), a Joint Venture Company of GE & Bharat Forge (74:26). In addition to his role as CEO & Managing Director, he is the “Country Leader - India Steam Power System” and leading the Steam Power System Business in India. Prior to joining ABFPPL, Mr. Spohr worked as Unit Managing Director of Alstom Hydro Business in India from 2007 till April 2013.

Ms. Neera Saggi
Independent Director

Ms. Neera Saggi holds a MBA degree from International Centre of Public Enterprise, Ljubljana in Slovenia and a Masters’ Degree in English Literature from Delhi University.

She joined the Indian Administrative Service in 1980. For 34 years she worked with multiple sectors and with different stakeholders including Government, Private, NGO, Multilateral Agencies, Chamber of Business and Commerce. She was the First Women President elected for the Bombay Chamber of Commerce and Industry. Ms. Neera Saggi was also the Chief Executive Officer for Larsen & Toubro, Seawoods Pvt. Ltd.

Besides other assignments undertaken, Ms. Saggi was the Secretary to Governor of West Bengal, District Magistrate, Hooghly in West Bengal, Dy. Chairperson of the Jawaharlal Nehru Port Trust (JNPT), CMD of Hindustan Diamond Corporation and Development Commissioner of Special Economic Zones.

She has been appointed as an Additional Independent Director of the Company with effect from 14 June 2016, subject to approval of the members at the ensuing Annual General Meeting.

Audit Committee: 

- Dr. Uddesh Kohli, Chairman
- Mr. Rathin Basu
- Mr. A. K. Thiagarajan
- Ms. Neera Saggi 

Stakeholders Relationship Committee: 

- Dr. Uddesh Kohli, Chairman
- Mr. Rathin Basu
- Mr. Ashok Ganesan

Corporate Social Responsibility Committee: 

- Mr. Ashok Ganesan, Chairman
- Mr. Rathin Basu
- Dr. Uddesh Kohli

Nomination and Remuneration Committee: 

- Mr. A. K. Thiagarajan, Chairman
- Mr. Rathin Basu
- Dr. Uddesh Kohli